Raj Loomba awarded Honorary Degree by University of Northampton

Lord Loomba
Lord Loomba

After being awarded his Honorary Fellowship at the Royal and Derngate theatre today, Lord Loomba said: “I feel very honoured and proud to have received this award.

“It was a great occasion and I still can’t believe that I have been given this honour.

“Years ago, the problem of widows was completely unknown. People didn’t recognise it, they just swept it under the carpet.

“But I saw at first hand the discrimination and prejudices against my mother.

“I was only 10-years-old, so I didn’t understand what was really going on. But when I got married that all changed.

“During the wedding, the priest who was conducting my marriage turned around and asked my own mother to walk away from the alter. It is then when I got very angry and realised what was happening.

“It really inspired me to do something to change the status of widows.

“Slowly I grew up, while witnessing the suffering of my mother, and became a successful businessman.

“It was then when I decided I should do something for other unfortunate children of widows, and that’s what I am doing now.”

Full article here

Leave a Reply

